Karl Hungus vs. the Sad Clowns of the Religious Right

Santorum continues in his anti-education jihad. “President Obama wants everybody in America to go to college. What a snob,” he said. “That’s why he wants you to go to college. He wants to remake you in his image. I want to create jobs so people can remake their children into their image, not his.”

What a wise decision it is to raise children in a total vacuum where they’ll never be exposed to anything contrary to the beliefs of their parents.  Raise them in a vacuum, and do not be surprised by the vacuous results.  That’s the thing about religious sorts I get very confused about.  Everyday I walk by churches.  Weekly, I am presented with a leaflet telling me about my soul and how it is very likely destined for hell, unless…  I live in a country full of Christians sticking fish to their bumpers and wearing crosses, but it doesn’t cause me to get the vapors and retire to my fainting couch, but for many of the religious the slightly vocal existence of anyone who doesn’t believe as they do and doesn’t respect their iron age goat herder’s bullshit is an absolute affront, an anathema that sends them into histrionic fits and near fatal convulsions as their faces redden and voices raise in indignation.  They are ill-suited to defend their fairy tales because their fairy tales are ill-suited to defense.  What they believe is illogical, evidence-free tripe, and I find myself, as a new father, more inclined to mock their idiocy than ever before in order to inoculate my son against their childish fantasies and to demonstrate to him the healthy mockery the religious deserve.  I have to say, I’m glad Santorum’s out there painting a clear picture in bold strokes of how the atavistic Christian mind works.  They fear education and learning because they have so little faith in their faith.  They know their hatreds and bigotries don’t hold up to scrutiny, and in their fear they will endeavor to keep their children ignorant and frightened, to shield them from the rest of the world, to keep them down on the farm, well away from the influence of Karl Hungus.  Also, Obama’s image is so very, very scary because it is black.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

