Good Times People

When tears come from the end
of a bad sitcom
I know there are good times ahead.
As I sit on the couch
weeping against my will
at the worst
sentimental shit
the worst writers of TV
can toss off,
I know there are good times ahead.
When the day drifts
over my awake body, hour
after hour lying in bed,
not enough will to rise,
I know there are good times ahead.
As I lay there
terrified at the sound of traffic
skateboards on concrete
leaf blowers and weed whackers
wondering what the world will
be like
when my consciousness fades
like a dim star’s light
lost in Los Angeles smog
and I no longer have ears for terror,
I know there are good times ahead.
When I do not laugh at the truly funny,
as my chest heaves painfully in joy
at humanity’s worst jokes
I know there are good times ahead.
When all the doors are locked,
the phone unplugged
and the curtain pulled…
When the pilot is out,
the Magnum loaded,
and the shot glass full…
When the razors are sharp,
the rope well tied,
and the cigarette burning…
When the wine is red,
the meat the same
and the deck is stacked…
all against me,
I know there are good times,
but where?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

