3 Alien S.O.B.’s

Whipping off water beads
like a Saturnian stepping out of a star
shaking off dewy plasma drops
into a shadow a thousand light years long

Stepping into hurricane force winds
like a Republican grappling with reality
bowled over by logic and facts
into a morass destructively endless and deep

Gulping nitrous into greedy lungs
like a creationist ingesting Bible verse
high on self-righteous fantasy
an addiction fed on our children’s futures

Banging my head into a cinderblock stack
like an over-confident first year karate student
dead certain of my convictions
to the last crack of my skull
to the first light of day on the brain
like all those who have gone before
I am three useless things, predictably:
me, myself and I

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

