I Get So Tired Lately

I get so tired lately
my face falls apart like dried flowers
I get so tired lately
my fields are stubble of stalks and frost
furrows crusted by an ice glaze
cold unyielding soil
useless ‘till Spring
if it comes
I get so tired lately
renewal seems impossible
and impossibly distant
I get so tired lately
running for it long distance
the vanishing point
deep and far in the valley below
I get so tired lately
piles of dishes, grime on floors
myself on all fours
mushrooms sprouting from the sponge
I eat and
I get so tired lately
beans burn dry to the bottom of the pan
soup stock from a can
cheese slices individually wrapped
I get so tired lately
fruit flies stuck dead in grape-stained stemware
I get so tired lately
pouring more in, covering the dead uncaring
I get so tired lately
wine to my lips, head tilted back
dumping it into my face
watering those desiccated frail flowers
thawing my fields
renewing, invigorating
giving second wind and second sight
everything is closer
everything possible
conquering the home
cleansing
tossing out the old
it is Spring, it came
I blossom
for now

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

