Something Living

Back left to nothing
where it was born
in the doorway she stands
potted plant cradled to her chest
in her hands, alive
between the rain in front
and the metallic brown security door
behind

She is a hieroglyph for loss
once again my illiteracy serves me
in the downpour I cannot read
trails on her cheeks
is it tears or precipitation
both will dry, evaporating words after the end

I click the turn signal down
check my left shoulder blind spot
steer away from the curb and her
catch a last peripheral flash of Chinese Evergreen
bought for me
a gift I couldn’t accept
because
she said
in my house
dwells nought but death

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

