Habitual Blood

Obsessive picking at my face
the nails dig in
gouging a gory ruin
fingers run through my hair
scratch at the scalp
scoop out flakes and filth and
blood accumulates darkly
under white crescents
scars never rest
rent open anew
unable to relent
I plough troughs through skin
probe the tenderest places
with a tentative touch
then rip into flesh for the win
until pain and shame
wields the clipper
trimming flush to the bed
I look at the loss
like an amputee
but they will grow back
unless comes the day
I end the curse
ply up by the roots
that which offends me
the good old biblical cure
cut it off
kill it dead
drown the world
cleanse it complete
bring the end
the unsatisfying end

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

