The Legacy

I am the anti-Buddha
the prince who clings to possessions
as grimly as a demon once inside
I am my things
a living, breathing human midden
animated upon birth
the moment in the bassinet
when presented with my first “Mine”
an orange-eyed, blue-hide bear
from then the pile
of my identity amassed
tangible objects
ownership becomes the owner
tastes, opinions, beliefs
projected upon property
my personal belongings
and a longing for them
to build a better person
items of mass production
producing an itemized man
a life to take stock of
count inventory
the sum of all I am
all I own
all I may hope to
by the end
written in the will
my will imposed
upon the lucky recipients
of what only death
could free from me
could free me from

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

